Tom’s Recipe Book: Banana Smoothie

Confession: I don’t like bananas. At least, not a banana on its own.

But when you add a bit of water and blend that banana up, it suddenly becomes something that I absolutely love.

Banana smoothie is cheap, delicious and healthy, so why not give my recipe a go?

Makes ~500ml Smoothie

Ingredients

275g Chilled Ripe Bananas
150ml Cold Water

How To Make It

1. Break the bananas (NB. 275g once peeled!) into small pieces into the blender. If you have any leftover banana you can simply put it in the fridge as is or you can chop it up and freeze it.

Leftover Banana

2. Add the water to the blender (1ml of water weighs 1g so you can weigh your water instead if that makes it easier for you). If the bananas you’re using are not that ripe then you can also add 1/4 – 1/2 tsp sugar to sweeten.

Banana & Water

3. Blend until smooth.

Banana Smoothie Blended

4. Serve straight away or place in the fridge for later.

Banana Smoothie Fridge

5. Enjoy!

Banana Smoothie

What did you think of this recipe? Let me know in the comments, on the spiced! Facebook page or on Twitter @spiceduk

5 thoughts on “Tom’s Recipe Book: Banana Smoothie

    1. Thanks Emily! Do you like banana smoothie but normally buy it or have you never had it before? And would you be interested in seeing some other smoothie recipes?

      Like

      1. To be honest I’ve never been a big fan of smoothies – I really don’t like seeds! But I’m trying to eat more breakfast and I think a banana smoothie would be perfect to put in bag and drink on the way to uni! Plus no seeds! 😀

        Like

      2. I’ve never understood the appeal of juicing to be honest. It’s more expensive, more hassle and you miss out on lots of fruity goodness! Plus I think smoothies taste a lot nicer as well.

        That’s understandable that you don’t like seeds but I’m sure I could think of some more seedless recipes if you’re interested?

        Like

Leave a comment